Delete Wordfence data or reset Wordfence to the default settings

From Wordfence Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search

Sometimes you may want to remove Wordfence completely. Other times you may want to delete all Wordfence data and recreate the tables so that Wordfence is reset to the defaults. This often helps solve issues with corrupted data. This will also help if you are a free Wordfence user and are getting an error with your free API key.

Note that you can use the procedure below, which only requires the Wordfence plugin. Or you can install the Wordfence Assistant plugin which has several options to remove Wordfence data. You can find Wordfence Assistant on this page, or through the WordPress plugin installer.


Here’s how you reset Wordfence to defaults and get it to acquire a new free API key. You can also use the first part of this procedure to remove all Wordfence data:

  • Sign into your own website’s WordPress admin area.
  • Go to the Wordfence "options" page.
  • Scroll to the bottom section, where you’ll find a checkbox to remove all Wordfence data if the plugin is disabled.
  • Check that box and hit "save".
  • Then go to your Plugins menu and disable Wordfence.

At this point all Wordfence data has been removed from your system, including all Wordfence database tables. If you simply wanted to remove Wordfence, you can stop here. If you re-enable Wordfence, it will automatically create all the tables it needs, and the Wordfence options will be reset to defaults. All your live traffic data will be deleted, and all your Firewall options will be reset to defaults.


Note: You can save your options using the Export option before resetting Wordfence, saving the "token" it provides, and then importing the settings afterward, but if your options were part of the original problem, the problem may reoccur.