This documentation is only valid for older versions of Wordfence. If you are using Wordfence 7 or later, please visit our.
I got an error that says my API key is being used by another site. How do I fix that?
This often happens when you change the domain name of your website. For example if you have a staging or development server and you migrate your website to live with a different domain, you’ll see this error. If you’re a paid customer, simply sign into www.wordfence.com, go to your Dashboard, then in the section “API Keys” click "Manage API keys" and check the box next to the key you’re having problems with. Then click the button above "Reset selected keys" to use on a different domain.
That’s it, it should work now. If you’re an unpaid member, it’s a little tougher to fix this issue. You need to reset Wordfence to defaults so that it fetches a new free API key from our scanning server. You do this by using the instructions below to reset Wordfence to defaults.
Sometimes you may want to remove Wordfence completely. Other times you may want to delete all Wordfence data and recreate the tables so that Wordfence is reset to defaults. This often helps solve issues with corrupted data. This will also help if you are a free Wordfence user and are getting an error with your free API key. Here’s how you reset Wordfence to defaults and get it to acquire a new free API key. You can also use the first part of this procedure to remove all Wordfence data:
- Sign into your own website’s WordPress admin area.
- Go to the Wordfence ‘options’ page.
- Scroll all the way to the bottom where you’ll find a checkbox to remove all Wordfence data if the plugin is disabled
- Check that box and hit “save”.
- Then go to your Plugins menu and disable Wordfence.
- At this point all Wordfence data has been removed from your system including all Wordfence database tables. If you simply wanted to remove Wordfence, you can stop here.
- If you re-enable Wordfence, it will automatically create all the tables it needs and Wordfence will be reset to defaults. All your live traffic data will be deleted and all your Firewall options will be reset to defaults.